Hey Throwdown lovers,

I have 11 more meals to go!! I am super excited (and nervous)  for the home stretch. Now that the project is almost coming to an end, I have realized I’ve become super attached to it as well. I consider that a good thing.

Here is a quick recap of meals 82- 89:

Meal 82: Chicken Taco x Viazi Karai x Guacamole x Ketchup.

Tacos are super easy to make and you can pair them with a lot of things. I decided to pair these spicy chicken tacos with crunchy viazi karai. Guacamole served as a great dip for the viazi karai.


Meal 83: Boiled ngwaci (sweet potatoes) x Egg & Avocado Wrap x Strungi (Black Tea)

Boiled sweet potatoes are a delicacy for breakfast/ with tea in Kenya. I am not a huge fan of boiled sweet potatoes, I prefer them shallow fried or baked. I pair these boiled sweet potatoes with a wrap and it was really good.

Meal 84: Rice x Ndengu (Green Grams) x Plantains x Salad

A lot of people have been requesting for me to making more vegetarian dishes. I went ahead and made this meal. This was quite a delicious affair in my mouth.

Meal 85: Beef Pilau

I have made twice already on this “100 Days Of Kenyan Throwdowns” project. I made pilau one last time to experiment using pilau masala instead of pilau whole spices. I must admit that I will stick to pilau whole spices, they truly are the real deal.   

Meal 86: Ugali x Gizzards (Firigisi) x Sauteed Kale

Gizzards truly have a strong smell. Thank goodness garlic and ginger can help diffuse the smell. After boiling the gizzards for some time, I made my throwdown sauce for them. Throwdown sauce recipe is available here.

Meal 87: Fried Potatoes in Coconut Milk & Spices.

After I shared my sweet potatoes in coconut milk, someone suggested I make potatoes in coconut milk & spices…so I went ahead and did that.

Meal 88: Coconut Rice x Gizzards

Coconut rice goes so well with a lot of dishes! I paired the rice with gizzards that I made in my throwdown sauce and I absolutely loved every bite. I made the gizzards the night before then enjoyed them the next day. Most meals always taste better the next day because the spices truly sip into whatever you made.

Meal 89: Mashed Sweet Potatoes with Cinnamon & Butter

I boiled the sweet potatoes until they were completely tender. I mashed them with butter, a hint of cinnamon and milk to make it creamy.

I paired the sweet mashed potatoes with pork chops.

Which dish was your favorite from this recap? I’d love to know.

All pictures by Sannie Sanford 

#100DaysOfKenyanThrowdowns #Foodie #KenyanFood #AfricanFood #MissMandiThrowdown.